The Neuwerk Lighthouse is not only the most important landmark on the island of Neuwerk, but also the oldest non-church building in Hamburg. Originally built in 1310 as a defense tower, the tower served to protect the mouth of the Elbe from pirates and looters in order to secure trade via the waterway, which was important for Hamburg. It also acted as a visible landmark for ships and a refuge for locals during severe storm surges.
After a devastating fire in 1372, the tower was extensively renovated. It was not until 1814 that the fortified tower was converted into a lighthouse, with various light sources being used over time. Today the lighthouse is equipped with modern LED technology.
A comprehensive refurbishment of the lighthouse is currently planned and should be completed by the summer of 2025. The cost of this is estimated at over ten million euros. After the renovation, the tower will serve in the future as a hotel with three-star quality, ten rooms, a suite and a restaurant. In addition, weddings will once again be able to be celebrated in the historic mayor’s room. The lighthouse even served as a film set for a famous Tatort episode from 1996 and is still a popular location for film and television productions.
Visitors can climb the lighthouse by ascending the 138 steps to enjoy a breathtaking panoramic view of the North Sea and the island, which is only three square kilometers in size. Inside the tower is the popular Turmschenke, where guests can linger over refreshments.